Automatic ProPhoto Updates

This particular option can be found by logging into your site's admin area and going to:
"ProPhoto" > "Customize" > "Site Settings" > "Misc"

One great ProPhoto feature that a lot of folks may not be aware of is ProPhoto’s ability to automatically update itself.  That way, any time we add a new feature to ProPhoto, or make some bug fixes, we can automatically push all of those changes right to our customers, instantly.  In almost all cases, you’ll simply want to leave the default “enable automatic updates” option selected like it is by default.

The only two instances where you would ever want to “disable automatic updates” would be:

  • If your web server is not compatible with ProPhoto’s automatic update process.  This is usually discovered if ProPhoto tries to auto-update your site and fails.  However, this is extremely rare since over 99% of servers are compatible with the auto-update process.
  • If you have manually edited the ProPhoto theme files. When ProPhoto updates itself, all of the ProPhoto files are replaced with new files, so if you have manually changed any of those files, your changes would be overwritten.

However, no matter whether this option is enabled or not, if you do ever want to update your ProPhoto files to the very latest version, you can simply click the “Generate Download Link” button in this area to receive the latest version of the ProPhoto theme files.  Then, you can update ProPhoto per our tutorial here.

Just know that if you do disable auto-updates and choose to not to stay on the latest version of ProPhoto, we are unable to provide technical support.


This particular option can be found by logging into your site's admin area and going to:
"ProPhoto 4" > "Customize" > "Site Settings" > "Misc"

One of the really great features about ProPhoto that a lot of folks may not be aware of is ProPhoto’s ability to automatically update itself.  That way, any time we add a new feature to ProPhoto, or make some bug fixes, we can automatically push all of those changes right to our customers, instantly.  As such, in almost all cases, you’ll simply want to leave the default “enable automatic updates” option selected as it is in this area.

The only two instances where you would ever want to select “disable automatic updates” would be if:

  • Your webhost’s server is not compatible with ProPhoto’s automatic update process.  This is usually discovered if ProPhoto tries to auto-update your site and fails.  However, this is extremely rare since over 99% of our customer’s servers are compatible with the auto-update process.
  • You have manually edited the actual ProPhoto theme files. When ProPhoto updates itself, all of the ProPhoto files are replaced with new files, so if you have manually changed any of those files, your changes would be overwritten.

However, no matter whether this option is enabled or not, if you do ever want to update your ProPhoto files to the very latest version, you can simply click the “Generate Download Link” button in this area to receive the latest version of the ProPhoto theme files.  Then, you can update ProPhoto per our tutorial here.

Just know that if you do disable auto-updates and choose to not to stay on the latest version of ProPhoto, we are unable to provide technical support.

If you’ve searched the tutorials and can't find what you need, please contact us. We’re here to help. Contact Us